Nurses and Midwives of Tairawhiti Awards 2016

5 May 2016

NAMOT (Nurses and Midwives of Tairawhiti) met on Saturday night (7 May 2016) to acknowledge and celebrate the efforts of remarkable nurses and midwives.

An achievement awards evening and dinner was held at Te Tini o Porou Conference Centre.

NAMOT represents all nurses and midwives including students and those who have retired. The group wished to encompass the companionship and history which the Cook Hospital reunion group brought from the 1940’s through into the new millennium, said secretary Jane Wilkie. The aims of NAMOT include celebrating services to nursing and midwifery, the achievements of nurses and midwives in Tairawhiti, providing opportunities to network within nursing and midwifery, and sharing experiences and knowledge.

NAMOT support and engender comradeship among nurses and midwives and host two events each year;

• Nurse and midwife achievement awards evening in May.

• End of year celebration of achievements and service evening in November.

Saturday’s guest speaker was Linda Hutchings, a Hawke’s Bay-based trainer and facilitator, specialising in the creation and delivery of dynamic professional development programmes. With over 20 years experience in the field of adult learning, Linda is regarded as a challenging and highly skilled presenter.

NAMOT Awards

Director of Nursing and Midwifery Award

This award recognises high achievement in the first year of practise by either a new graduate midwife or nurse.

Winner: Aimee Milne (Turanga Health)

Services to Nursing Award and Services to Midwifery Award

The award for these two categories recognises the achievements of an individual nurse or midwife who has engaged and influenced nursing or midwifery practice within the wider service, organisation or profession.

Services to Nursing Nominees: Janine Brown (Hauora Tairawhiti) and Rachel Compton (Hauora Tairawhiti)

Winner:Debra Mckay (Hauora Tairawhiti)

Services to Midwifery Nominees: Elizabeth Boyce (Hauora Tairawhiti)

Winner: Kim Kernon, Meri Howden and Lesley Turnbull (all Hauora Tairawhiti)

Services to Maori Nursing Award and Services to Maori Midwifery Award

The award for these two categories recognises the achievements of an individual Maori nurse or midwife working in primary or secondary care.

Services to Maori Nursing Winner: Gina Chaffey-Aupouri (Ngati Porou Hauora)

Services to Maori Midwifery Winner: Holly Casey (Community Midwife)

Innovation and Support in a Workplace Award (eg leadership, quality)

This award acknowledges a nurse or midwife who has initiated innovative services or products that positively benefit patients/whanau or other nursing/midwifery staff, recognising the hard work and dedication.

Nominee:Sue Cranston (Hauora Tairawhiti)

Winner: Tracy Low (Hauora Tairawhiti)

EIT International Nurses and Midwives Day Award (Individual and Team)

These two awards recognise the achievements of an individual nurse or workplace.

Individual Nominee:Kathy Fisher
Winner: Yvette White

Team Winner: Community Mental Health

Innovation / Patient Safety Award

The award for a nursing or midwifery team/individual that demonstrates excellence of service delivery/innovation and patient safety.

Nominees: Kimora Biddle (Te Wiremu now Turanga Health), Sharon Olsen (Te Wiremu), Satelite Dialysis Unit (Hauora Tairawhiti).

Read more aboutWinner: Kylie Morrissey (Three Rivers Medical Centre)

General Practice Nursing Award

The award for an outstanding practice nurse that can demonstrate excellence in clinical practice and innovation for practice nursing in a Tairawhiti general practice setting.
Read more about Winner: Cynthia Colbert (Ngati Porou Hauora)

Lifetime Services to Nursing Award

Winner: Marion Gibson (retired)